SHARE ON Facebook & Twitter
FR | EN | AR

SYRIA

FOUR YEARS LATER
THE HUMANITARIAN IMPASSE

Besieged, bombed, attacked and displaced – the Syrian population has been devastated by four years of war. Basic services, from access to health care, water, electricity and foodstuffs, are no longer available in most of the country’s governorates. Médecins Sans Frontières has been conducting cross-border activities since 2012 in northern Syria. Providing medical aid to Syrians has proven to be a huge challenge for us since the conflict began. We are working in an environment in which the Damascus regime considers medical facilities and staff in rebel areas to be military targets. When the Islamic State gained territorial control, we were forced to withdraw from all those areas after five of our volunteers were kidnapped in January 2014. Since then, our Syrian staff have been working on their own to continue to provide medical services, particularly in the northern part of the country. Dounia Dekhili, MSF program manager for Syria and Jordan, Dr. Mego Terzian, president of Médecins Sans Frontières, and Dr. Natalie Roberts, MSF’s medical coordinator for Syria in 2014, review four years of humanitarian impasse.

SYRIA

FOUR YEARS LATER
THE HUMANITARIAN IMPASSE

2011-2012: Doctors
and hospitals targeted

It sometimes took 48 hours to get to our hospital. We think that means that the most severely-injured or ill people did not survive."

The revolt broke out in Syria in spring 2011. From the start, the Assad regime’s willingness to terrorize the population could be seen as it chased wounded demonstrators all the way to medical facilities and conducted reprisals against the doctors who tried to treat them. Physicians organized secret networks, but lacked drugs, supplies and equipment. Without official authorization to work in the country, MSF operated clandestinely, providing drug supplies before opening a hospital in northern Syria.

Dounia Dekhili
MSF program manager for Syria and Jordan

SYRIA

FOUR YEARS LATER
THE HUMANITARIAN IMPASSE

2013: Humanitarian blockade and attacks on civilians

We even negotiated with the Islamic State group, just like any other group, because we thought it made sense to talk with everybody."

The conflict persists. The health system has collapsed in opposition-controlled areas that are still deprived of humanitarian aid and victimized by armed government reprisals. The Islamic State continues to gain ground. MSF negotiated with all the actors in an effort to expand our activities and open a second hospital. But in January2014, the Islamic State kidnapped five of our volunteers. The international teams left the country.

Dr. Mego Terzian
President of Médecins Sans Frontières

SYRIA

FOUR YEARS LATER
THE HUMANITARIAN IMPASSE

2014: The population is suffocating

I can’t imagine what Syria will be like in four years. I hope things will work out, but for now we are at an impasse."

Today, MSF cannot consider working in areas controlled by the Islamic State, which refuses to provide our teams with minimal security conditions and the independence necessary to aid the Syrians. Instead, our teams are operating from neighboring countries in an effort to assist besieged populations displaced by the fighting and subject to bombing by the Syrian army.

Dr. Natalie Roberts
MSF medical coordinator for Syria in 2014

PARTAGER SUR Facebook & Twitter
FR | EN | AR

SYRIE

4 ANS APRES
L'IMPASSE HUMANITAIRE

Assiégée, bombardée, attaquée, déplacée, la population syrienne est dévastée par quatre années de guerre. Les services de base - accès aux soins, à l'eau, à l'électricité, aux denrées alimentaires - ne sont plus assurés dans la plupart des gouvernorats du pays. Pour Médecins Sans Frontières, qui mène des opérations transfrontalières depuis 2012 dans le nord de la Syrie, porter des secours médicaux aux Syriens s'est révélé un défi immense dès le début du conflit, dans un contexte où les structures et le personnel de santé dans les zones rebelles sont des cibles militaires pour le régime de Damas. La conquête territoriale de l'organisation de l'Etat Islamique a ensuite contraint MSF à se retirer de toutes les zones sous son contrôle, après le kidnapping de cinq de ses volontaires en janvier 2014. Depuis, les personnels syriens de MSF maintiennent seuls les activités médicales qu'elle tente de poursuivre, notamment dans le nord du pays. Dounia Dekhili, responsable des programmes MSF en Syrie et en Jordanie, Dr Mego Terzian, président de Médecins Sans Frontières, et Dr Natalie Roberts, coordinatrice médicale MSF pour la Syrie en 2014, reviennent sur quatre ans d'impasse humanitaire.

SYRIE

4 ANS APRES L'IMPASSE HUMANITAIRE

2011-2012 : médecins
et hôpitaux pris pour cibles

Parfois il fallait 48h pour pouvoir rejoindre notre hôpital, ce qui nous laissait penser que les cas les plus sévères n'arrivaient pas à survivre à leurs blessures"

Lorsque la révolte éclate en Syrie au printemps 2011, la volonté du régime de Bachar El Assad de terroriser la population le conduit à persécuter les manifestants blessés jusque dans les espaces de soin, et à mener des représailles contre les médecins qui tentent de les soigner. Des réseaux de médecins s'organisent en cachette, mais ils manquent de tout. N'ayant pas l'autorisation d'intervenir officiellement en Syrie, MSF entre dans la clandestinité et assure l'approvisionnement en médicaments avant d'ouvrir un hôpital dans le nord du pays.

Dounia Dekhili
Responsable des programmes MSF en Syrie et en Jordanie

SYRIE

4 ANS APRES L'IMPASSE HUMANITAIRE

2013 : blocus humanitaire
et attaques sur les civils

On a négocié même avec le groupe Etat islamique, comme tout autre groupe, parce qu'on trouvait que c'était logique de dialoguer avec tout le monde"

Le conflit s'enlise. Le système de santé s'effondre dans les zones contrôlées par l'opposition, toujours privées d'assistance humanitaire et victimes des représailles armées du gouvernement, alors que le groupe État islamique gagne du terrain. MSF négocie avec tous les acteurs pour étendre ses activités et ouvrir un deuxième hôpital. Mais en janvier 2014, cinq volontaires MSF sont kidnappés par le groupe État islamique. Les équipes expatriées quittent le pays.

Dr Mego Terzian
Président de Médecins Sans Frontières

SYRIE

4 ANS APRES L'IMPASSE HUMANITAIRE

2014 : la population asphyxiée

Je ne peux pas imaginer ce que sera la Syrie dans quatre ans. J'espère que les choses vont s'arranger mais pour le moment nous sommes dans une impasse."

MSF ne peut aujourd’hui envisager de travailler dans les zones contrôlées par l'organisation État islamique, qui refuse à ses équipes médicales les conditions minimales de sécurité et d'autonomie nécessaires pour apporter des secours aux Syriens. C'est donc depuis les pays limitrophes que les équipes MSF tentent d'apporter une assistance à la population déplacée par les combats, assiégée et soumise aux bombardements de l’armée syrienne.

Dr Natalie Roberts
Coordinatrice médicale MSF pour la Syrie en 2014